Crap. Your gravy is super thin and you need to thicken it up.
What can you use?
What can you use that's gluten free?
"The laws of food are mine!"--Famous superhero
The laws of food might be yours, but sometimes no matter HOW well you follow a recipe, it just doesn't thicken like it should.
Thickeners are primarily used to add a flavorful taste and texture to a recipe. They are mostly added to stews, soups, sauces, gravy and fillings.
Common Types of Gluten Free Thickeners:
You can use any of the below gluten free thickeners as a gluten free gravy or sauce thickener.
Arrowroot powder is a great substitute for cornstarch and does not add any color to a recipe. It is a very neutral flavor and typically tasteless. It is a fine, white powder. (Gluten free, dairy free, egg free, soy free, nut free, FODMAP, vegan, vegetarian)
The least expensive thickener, cornstarch is also a fine white powder that incorporates well into hot or cold recipes. It is also tasteless and has a neutral flavor. Cornstarch can be used in hot or cold recipes. Those with intolerances to corn may have trouble using cornstarch. (Gluten free, dairy free, egg free, soy free, nut free, FODMAP, vegan, vegetarian).
Gluten Free Flour:
Flour is a simple thickener for recipes. It can be a little more tempermental in recipes and is more prone to clumping. But it works great and is often used for gravies and sauces. It has a slight flavor to it but not enough to change or alter the taste of a recipe. (Gluten free, dairy free, egg free, soy free, nut free, FODMAP, vegan, vegetarian).
Look at the label of pie fillings and other foods and tapioca starch is a pretty typical and common ingredient. Tapioca starch is pretty common because it's taste free, it thickens and it will freeze well without loosing it's texture. It also isn't prone to separating or clumping up if you decide to freeze or refrigerate a recipe with it. Reheating isn't much of an issue in the change of texture either. It makes for a great thickener if you're wanting a more gellatinous texture. (Gluten free, dairy free, egg free, nut free, soy free, FODMAP, vegan, vegetarian).
Often one of the more expensive thickeners to use it can be vital in gluten free baking to aid in elasticity but it can also be used in non dairy milks, ice cream, and other products to help thicken. (Gluten free, dairy free, nut free, egg free, soy free, FODMAP, vegan, vegetarian)
Happy Cooking and Love and Gravy Forever, Traci
And don't forget! If you need some more help and tips for the kitchen head to our getting started page! We got you!
Leave a Reply